

POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING SUMMARY MINUTES June 28, 2024 – 12:00 p.m. Rock Hill Operations Center – Room 132

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT: Brian Carnes; Guynn Savage (P); John Gettys; Tom Audette; Jose Luis; Christi Cox; Derrick Lindsey; Michael Johnson; Ben Hudgins; Chris Gray; Jim Reno (P); Heath Sessions; Kevin Sutton (P); and Watts Huckabee (P).

ADMINISTRATIVE / TECHNICAL / MANAGEMENT STAFF PRESENT:

Patrick Hamilton (York County); Berry Mattox (SCDOT); Josh Meetze (SCDOT); Leah Youngblood (City of Rock Hill); Samantha Carr (SCDOT); Christopher Stevens (York County); David Vehaun (City of Rock Hill); Jimmy Bagley (City of Rock Hill); Josh Edwards (York County); Chris Herrmann (City of Rock Hill); Diane Dil (York County); Tommy Feemster (SCDOT); Jason Vance (City of Rock Hill); Jason Johnston (SCDOT); Mike Jolly (City of Rock Hill); Stephen Allen (CRCOG); Cliff Goolsby (City of Rock Hill); Allison Love (SCDOT); Terrance Neely (City of Rock Hill); Jonathan Buono (York County); Rob Ruth (City of Rock Hill); Lisa Hagood (York County); Scot Sibert (STV, Inc); Kim Shepard (City of Rock Hill); and David Hooper (RFATS).

CITIZENS / VISITORS PRESENT: John Marks (Herald); Jim Van Blarcom (CAC); Luther Dasher (CAC); David Ward (CAC); Teresa Thomas (Office of Senator L. Graham); Sheri Williamsom (HDR); Randall Young (JMT); Tyler Cupp (WRHI); Rob Dubnicka (Meadhunt); Liz Duda; Brett Harrelson (Stantec); David Speer (HDR); Phil Leazer (KCI); Eric Burgess (KCI); Frank Myers (CAC); Jared Medline (KCI); and Jonathan Guy (Kimley-Horn);

1. CALL TO ORDER:

- **a.** Welcome Chair Carnes called the meeting to order at 12:00 P.M. and welcomed all in attendance.
- **b.** Citizen Comment Period Mayor Gray highlighted the importance of proper coordination and sequencing of project work in an effort to ensure proper utilization of public resources, and the production of solid project outcomes. No additional comments were made.

2. REVIEW / APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Mr. Carnes asked if there were any changes, deletions, or comments to the minutes of the April 26, 2024 meeting. Mr. Gettys then made a motion to approve; this was seconded by Mr. Johnson and unanimously approved.

3. REPORTS:

a. SCDOT Progress Report (Celanese / I-77 Interchange Analysis) – Mr. Mattox provided the latest traffic analysis completed as well as detailed information on current and projected changes in operating conditions along the Celanese and Cherry Road Corridor(s). Additional discussion occurred on the range of benefits and trade offs associated with each of the remaining options on the working "short list" of viable configurations alternatives.

4. PROPOSED POLICY COMMITTEE ACTION ITEMS

- **a. FY 24 33 TIP Amendment (Coltharp Intersection)** Mr. Hooper provided a brief overview of the Carbon Reduction Program and the recommended programming of \$1,270,000 in funding for targeted improvement at the Coltharp Intersection. Mr. Hooper then requested approval contingent on completion of a 21-day public comment period. A motion was then made by Mr. Gettys; seconded by Mr. Carnes and unanimously approved.
- **b. FY 24 33 TIP Amendment (Neely Store Trail)** Mr. Hooper briefly noted that York County has been awarded \$100,000 in funding from the SC Recreational Trails Program. Mr. Hooper then requested approval and authorization of a 21-day public comment period. A motion was then made by Mr. Audette; seconded by Mr. Johnson and unanimously approved.
- c. FY 24 25 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) Mr. Hooper briefly noted that the role and purpose of the FY 24 25 UPWP is to convey expected work tasks and associated funding amounts covering a broad range of planning areas (i.e., interchange analysis; public transit; travel demand modeling; congestion management, etc). Mr. Hooper then requested approval of the FY 24 25 UPWP contingent on a 30-day public comment period. Motion to approve was made by Mr. Audette; seconded by Mr. Johnson and unamiously approved.
- **d. CAC Reappointment** Mr. Hooper noted the contributions that Dr. David Keely have made to the Citizens Advisory Committee, and requested that he be reappointed to a new 3 year term. A motion was then made by Mr. Audette; seconded by Mr. Sessions and unanimously approved.

5. OTHER BUSINESS:

a. Next Meeting – Mr. Carnes noted that the next Policy Committee meeting is scheduled for September 27, 2024.

6. ADJOURNMENT:

The motion to adjourn was made by Mr. Carnes and seconded by Mr. Gettys; the motion was unanimously approved and the meeting was adjourned at 12:56 P.M.